School Info

Brief Historical Background

The foundation-laying ceremony was held on 26 March 1966, with Hon. Aserappa JP, District Commissioner, New Territories, as our guest of honour. N.T Heung Yee Kuk made a donation of $600,000, while the remaining construction expenses were covered by the government. Upon the completion of the construction work on 13 August 1968, the first batch of students moved into the new premises on 3 September. The opening ceremony was officiated by Sir David TRENCH, G.C.M.G., M.C., Governor of Hong Kong, on 23 January 1969.


School Council

Our School Council was established in January 1969. The first chairman of the Council was Mr. HO Chuen-yiu, J.P.. In April 1970, Mr. TANG Yuek-fan, J.P., took over as Chairman until he retired from his post in July 1983. Mr. LAU Wong Fat, GBM, GBS, OBE, JP., succeeded Mr. TANG and served as the Chairman until October 2015, and was honoured as Permanent Honorary Chairman of the School Council in 2015. Mr. LAU Ip-keung, Kenneth, SBS, MH succeeded Mr. LAU Wong-fat in 2015 and has been serving as the Chairman of the School Council till now.

In July 1987, the Education Committee of the New Territories Heung Yee Kuk amended the constitution of the School Council of the three Heung Yee Kuk schools, namely NT Heung Yee Kuk Yuen Long District School, NT Heung Yee Kuk Tai Po District Secondary School and NT Heung Yee Kuk Southern District Secondary School, to bring uniformity to the organization structure of the School Council of the three schools. The amendments were finalised in April 1988 and endorsed by the Director of Education. Our School Council was re-structured in November 1988, comprising 13 to 16 members.


School Management Committee

To enhance the effectiveness and efficiency of school management and subsequently raise the quality of teaching and learning, our school joined the School Management Initiative in 1993. It was renamed as the School-based Management in 1999. In line with this, the School Management Committee was set up, with Mr. CHENG Man-yiu, the then Assistant Director of Education, as Chairperson until August 2003. Since then, Principal Education Officer (NT) has been appointed as the Chairperson of our SMC. Mrs. TANG CHAN Wai-kwan, Sabrina served as Chairperson from 1 September 2003 to 31 August 2004. Mr. LEUNG Shiu-keung served as Chairperson from 1 September 2004 to 31 August 2010. Mr. WAI Pui-wah served as Chairperson from 1 September 2010 to 7 July 2013. Mr. YUNG Po-shu, Benjamin served as Chairperson from 8 July 2013 to 27 February 2014. Mr. LEE Kam-kwong served as Chairperson from 28 February 2014 to 15 October 2017. Ms. CHAN Chin-woon, Cynthia served as Chairperson from 16 October 2017 to 1 November 2021. Ms. LI Wai-bing, Vickie (currently holding the post of Principal Education Officer (New Territories East)) has been serving as Chairperson since 2 November 2021.


Medium of Instructions

As our S1 students have met the requirement of the Medium of Instruction Grouping Assessment in the past years, English has been adopted as the medium of instruction for all S1 classes since 1997. Starting from 2003/04 school year, English is used as the medium of instruction of all classes.


Our Principals

As the construction work of the new school premises was still under progress in September 1967, we shared the school premises with Yuen Long Public Secondary School. Our first principal, Mr. LAU Hsin-min, served as the principal of both schools (1967-1968). His successors were Mr. William CHENG (1968-1973), Mr. NG Yik-wah (1973-1975), Mr. CHEW Tung-sing (1975-1979), Mr. CHENG Kam-tong (1979-1984), Mr. LEUNG Kwai-chung (1984-1995), Mr. TSOI Chong-tat, John (1995-2008), Mrs. CHEUNG NG Yuk-chi (2008-2011), Mr. LEE Chi-sam (2011-2014), Mr. LAM Ka-yiu (2014-2018) and Mr. YUEN Kwong-yip (since 2018).


Annual School Plan

Different programme plans have been implemented to address specific needs since 1993. They have proved to be highly effective in improving the running of the school administration. The major concerns of the 2023/24 academic years are as follows:

  • Optimising teaching and learning strategies to enhance the learning effectiveness of students
  • Promote students’ wellness by nurturing their positive outlook in life


Parent Teacher Association

In order to strengthen communication between the school and parents, the Parent- Teacher Association was established in October 1985. The association has made substantial contribution in enhancing communication between parents and teachers, and improving student welfare.


Alumni Association

The Alumni Association was set up in July 1990. Reunion gatherings and a wide range of activities are organized regularly to keep alumni in close contact with the school and among themselves. The Alumni Scholarship has been set up where alumni can make donations of gratitude to the school.